Reason for Online Aggressive Attitudes?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RealFatChicken

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-24-2010

I thought it would be interesting just to see what some other people in the online community thought about the general aggressive attitude that characterizes online gamers.

I'm a college student and both at school and work I rarely encounter people who are openly "aggressive" in their wording or actions. When someone makes a fault or gets an answer wrong in class, they are not "burned," told to "l2p," or called "f***ing noobs." Instead they are usually corrected in a polite manner and the things continue as normal.

I also play ultimate Frisbee (shout out) and volleyball pretty competitively on a regular basis, both in pick up games on campus or with a group of friends. I'm not amazing by any stretch, but I'm able to hold my own in most games. Anyway, when someone drops a pass or has a bad set in either of those sports the team usually claps and says something like "we got this!" (/flex) or just "shake it off." I have yet to see someone say "WTF way to feed the other team points, gtfo go home and die you noob play something else."

So, why does this change the moment someone comes home and gets onto their computer to participate in an equally competitive, albiet virtual, game? Why do people rage-quit video games but rarely rage-quit a Frisbee game? What is it about the online community that fosters such self-righteous aggression towards teammates?

I look forward to some discussion as I come up with theories of my own.

Rexplosive

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-24-2010

I can rage both in-game and out of game, but it's true that I'm more likely to rage in-game. But I only rage if something is at stake. I get annoyed if I for example get a loss in LoL, because it's added to my score.