Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS


Rads user Kernel

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RhynoD

Senior Member

05-04-2011

The rads user kernel.exe is behaving suspiciously. It's trying to get access to firefox, windows explorer, and the driver/user interface of my PC's remote control. Ok, firefox and explorer could make sense. But the program for my IR remote? This is among some other things. I use Comodo (http://www.comodo.com/) as my firewall/antivirus. Comodo asked if rad user kernel.exe could do things, and at first I said yes, but as the targets got more and more odd I said no.

Long story short: is this suspicious or am I just paranoid?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

JohnCataldo

Senior Member

05-05-2011

Since the new patcher, my machine has been crashing quite a bit more, even when I'm just leaving LoL idle in the background. I suspect there's a problem with rad_user_kernel.exe, which is sad since I'd like to still play LoL... hard to do when my computer locks up only when LoL is open.

Is it safe to kill rad_user_kernel.exe once the game has launched?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Amarin

Member

05-05-2011

any kernels are viruses , riot is trying to get access to your pc over the game since its running in the background u wont see , but well why the fack does game need any aceess to any thing anyways ? because its virus , everything that do something not needed for the game its a virus , and riot is probably some kind of zombs implanted with micro chips from japanZ or chineh

well the point is its time to delete LoL from my HDD i dun need any progs that need access to smoething that they dont need at all to run


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RhynoD

Senior Member

05-05-2011

Amarin, that sounds dumb. Kernels are not viruses.

Riot staff: Seriously, though, I just launched LoL and Comodo stopped rads user kernel.exe from accessing AIM. Why exactly does the launcher need to access my messenger? Has the launcher been infected by a virus or something? Either way, this needs to stop.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RhynoD

Senior Member

05-05-2011

For anyone's convenience (including Riot if they need it), here's links to all the patcher bug threads I can find within the last few days:

http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=665025
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=716655
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=551822
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=716278
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=716925
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=667673
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=719117
http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=719069


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kilrathi

Senior Member

05-06-2011

bump - mine's doing the same, hitting my antivirus and all sorts of other programs. What's going on here? Anyone find an answer? Is this a Comodo false-positive or something else?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

NlNEBREAKER

Member

05-12-2011

It keeps continuously freezing all my browsers. Equivalent of malware. Yay...


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

KainFromNod

Recruiter

05-17-2011

I'm getting the same error - I use COMODO firewall and it keeps telling that rads_user_kernel.exe is trying to remotely control "program x", where x is every program in execution - explorer, live messenger, chrome etc.
Is there a virus infecting it? This isnt normal behavior from a game.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

StalkinU2

Senior Member

05-17-2011

BUMP

i'd like some riot explanation here,
and NOT the kind of explanation thats says its all your own faulth


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

aManFromReno

Junior Member

05-19-2011

You guys think it is possibly scanning existing processes for hack apps? I don't know what it could find by *accessing* them any more than simply seeing process names, but also don't know if peeking at the process name counts as "access" to that process.