Team-building Help

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

LiterallyAPanda

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Recruiter

03-04-2010

Hi. I recently started playing LoL (played a bunch of DotA years ago and played a lot of HoN up until I started playing LoL, when I almost stopped completely - LoL is much more fun) about 3 weeks ago and I've recently hit Summoner Level 20. Here's where things get tricky with the Matchmaking - I'm not a great player but I can hold my own typically, however I lose pretty much 4 games for every game I win while solo-queueing, I think the game thinks I'm much better than I actually am. So I've been playing with my friends a lot in 3-5 man premades. This jacks up the ELO (from what I understand from reading about how matchmaking works), so we play players a lot better than I am, but since we have teamwork we can manage something like a 1 win to every 2 losses. It's not great but it's more fun than struggling in Solo Queue.

Anyway, my question was this: Are there any tips to building a more successful team if you can count on your team to pick certain heroes? Setting up successful lanes and whatnot.

One thing we keep running into are teams with a Heimer and a Soraka. The Heimer peeks, throws out AP-pumped missiles, then ducks back to his team to get healed up while we can't push back and chase. This eventually results in our towers being downed and forcing our loss. I assume with smarter team building we could beat something like this, but I'm unclear as to how.

Maybe it would help to show an example of the kind of team we tend to set up:

Blitzcrank, Alistar, Corki, Nidalee, Zilean

I'm sure there are many flaws with this, but having only been playing the game for 3 weeks I'm definitely not experienced enough to identify them.

LiterallyAPanda

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Recruiter

03-05-2010