Thoughts on Kat

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

CakeandBacon

03-01-2010

First, a disclaimer: I'm not a pro. My ELO score is pretty average, my win/loss ratio is about 50/50, and I'm only lvl 15. But since I do main with Kat (even after the nerf) and the general consensus still seems to be that she's UP after the buff to Death Lotus, I thought I'd throw in my two cents. This may take a while.

The post-buff Kat is an improvement, but the problem of Death Lotus remains. It still provides questionable damage in exchange for putting a giant "Stun Here" sign on your head. While escaping without a stun is a bit harder, 2.6 seconds still is plenty of time to run from it.

Not that it's useless. Late game I get kills with it often enough to use it, but it's still problematic that it is countered so easily.

As resident Kat expert Furor pointed out in a forum post that I can't be bothered to find, an ability that easily counter-able and dangerous to use should be rewarded with OMGWTF damage. This would put us roughly back where we were before the nerf she got smacked with a little while back.

Which is, to my mind, not a terribly desirable solution. The old Kat was almost entirely dependent on her Ulti for her damage, and (by extension) for usefulness in teamfights. Late game saw her reduced from an assassin into what amounted to a mobile gun turret. This worked great at low levels, but once you start fighting more experienced players who are more judicious with their abilities your ultimate becomes mediocre at best and suicidal at worst.