Melee and gap closers.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kiyome

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-20-2011

I started playing LoL a couple weeks ago, and am fairly familiar with the genre from the original dota and a few games on other games similar to LoL. As is natural in these games, melee characters generally have higher base stats for the increased risk of having to walk up to their enemy in order to deal damage, early game especially.

That's common sense in the sake of balance, but there-in also lies the problem I've encountered recently. As opposed to melee characters, ranged characters are generally sort of frail, and tend to not last long should someone get into range. Of course, that's given that they're usually mage-type or ranged carry champions who make sense being squishy. There's obvious exceptions to both of these situations (Read: Yi and Vlad), but usually it's a rule of thumb.

Introduce the gap closer/escape mechanism. A quick skill that generally shortens the distance between point A and point B, or the sharp part of a melee character's weapon and a squishy mage. In an aggressive game like LoL, where items make a very clear difference in the power of the person using them, I've found that a lot of melee characters are able to gap close to harass and quickly get out of harm's way before retaliation, and then even use that same mechanism to get close enough to tower dive a squishy after being pushed back, even in the early game.

My question to you, the LoL strategy forum, is what would be the most effective way for a squishy to combat early game harassment from melee and their gap-closing capabilities?

tl;dr: Melee hurts me. Hurts me good.

skullmac

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Recruiter

03-20-2011