Help with Kassadin?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

clerica

02-19-2011

Help me get into the mindset to play Kassadin. So I purchased him recently and he's becoming one of my fav assassin casters (played maybe 15 games as him so far).. however, I'm not very good at him (yet). I've seen those crazy Kassadins that have amazing kdas and strike fear into the enemy team as soon as he appears - yeah I wanna be like that. 8D

1st - positioning
Anyways, how do you position Kass in a teamfight? Should he always be off to the side or hidden? Most of my previous champs have had some sort of initiation ability, or some sort of CC which makes them good to go in as, say, the 2nd person into the fight. Obviously Kassadin shouldn't initiate - how do I get better at positioning him? Should I be doing anything between cooldowns? Should I let my teammates start off as a 4v5 then come in? What if they aren't doing so well - I have this urge to hop in and help. D:

2nd - mid lane
I usually take mid as Kass but I'm not comfortable enough playing him to secure kills in mid. He's obviously great at roaming once he hits 6 - but what about my tower? I feel like I can't leave my lane if I'm going against someone who can quickly push their lane. Since I play him in normals I can't count on having a jungler in most games. Also, how do I deal with ranged AD in mid? Maybe I'm just doing it wrong but usually I get harassed (they will trade AA hits with me when I move forward to Q). Esp Ashe because of the slow, and no I don't get hit by volley.
Is sidelane Kass even worth it? Or am I better off picking another champ if I have to side lane?

3rd - items