Need help on mages

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

WashiKashi

02-12-2011

Hi im a newbie who started last week
i've got the hang of LoL, but i can't seem to get mages right
How do i play them well?

Carados

02-12-2011

Well, first thing to do is define "mage" because it has no definition in any sort of gameplay sense in League of Legends.

WashiKashi

02-12-2011

Well by Mage i mean magic users like Morgana, Annie, Ryze etc.

Peebear

02-12-2011

Basically, there are three types of mages/casters

Burst Mage: Does a lot of damage in a couple of seconds, good at killing (eg Veigar, Leblanc, Kassadin, Annie) - You want to hit with your high dmg spell and get out of there.

DPS Mage : Sustained, constant damage with short cooldowns (I'd say karthus, anivia, vladimir, maybe mordekaiser)

Support Mage: Someone not necessarily designed to kill, but to provide CC/help to team or save the carry. Usually gets a ton of assists. (Janna, Zilean, soraka, sona)

Generally mages try not to get targeted in team fights. Your job is to provide damage to the other teams' squishy people through stacking ability power/and survivability.

1) Stay behind the tank/ meelee dps or someone who can take all the damage
2) Stun/slow/bind/ drop your spells on people in order to make it easier for your teammates to kill them/ for you to kill them.
3) run away unharmed, for the most part.

I would look up guides on leaguecraft/mobafire for individual mages' builds/playstyles.

But generally you'd build mana regen, Ability Power (AP), Magic Penetration, Cooldown Reduction (CDR), and survivability items.

Doran's ring is a great start, or you could start with a sapphire crystal + 2 health pots and build it into catalyst => rod of ages for more survivability.
Also, if you are sure you won't lose the blue buff from mister blue golem, it provides a lot of mana regen and cooldown reduction.

Braains

Recruiter

02-12-2011