Kayle build, problems transitioning to late game

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Antimodus

01-17-2010

As a preface, I'm pretty new at this game (2 weeks). I gravitated very quickly towards support champs like Kayle and Taric, then focused entirely on Kayle.
After a few games, I started feeling sort of ineffectual in pub games. If the team was too bad to cooperate a tanking/support build would be worthless, and if they were good, they won it almost on their own even if I made plenty of mistakes.
Besides, for a pure support role, I think I'd rather play Taric anyway. I wanted to be able to gank too.

I looked up the forum for builds and saw Raginald's AP build, which made it more fun for me. I also made a few small tweaks to it. Since I'm usually soloing mid I get a pretty strong offensive midgame, but when everyone's level 15+ I once again devolve into a mobile invulnerability potion for carries, and an aura carrier at best. Maybe it's not an inherent and I can fix it with some better choice of items.

Anyway, here's what I figured out thus far.

Summoner spells: Ignite, Clarity
Great for soloing mid. I can push even against ranged champs like Ashe or Sivir, though it's not easy vs. skilled players.

Abilities: always select with the priority R > Q > W > E, exceptions are W at level 4 and E at level 5. Sometimes earlier E if my opponent seems careless enough.

Start: Doran's ring, HP potion.
1st: Doran's ring, basic boots, HP potions if needed
2nd: AP tome -> Sheen (if I get enough gold), boots of swiftness, or merc treads if facing CC heavy team. Also, experimenting with sorc boots + elixir of brilliance.

The idea is to get to level 9+ to max Q, and use your crazy burst damage (w/ Ignite if needed) to gank, either in your own line (tower diving with R) or into one of the other lines on a lower-level target.

Mid-game and beyond: