How this game has changed

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

PetalDance

01-06-2011

Over the course of the last year and a while, I have consistently played league of legends, accumulating approximately 2000 games played. I'd like to think that I have seen a lot, how it's grown, faults and fixes, changes as a whole.

The good;

-Server Stability-From when I began, this grew in leaps and bounds. At first, the game could have periods of game time disruption, random crashes and huge errors spanning over the course of days; now this rarely ever happens. Scheduled maintenance is done and after the usual post-patch instability it evens out fairly quickly.

-Growth-Player base has expanded soooooo much since my beginning, a new map; many new champions(Touching on that later) and ranked matches

-The "Op" Champions-Twisted Fate was a huge problem when I started playing and since then the level of op that I have seen champions experience has significantly decreased. Yes, there have been some ridiculously powerful champions, ezreal, udyr, sona (In their peaks), but generally, none have even dominated at such a level as the old tf; riot is getting better at balancing (be it simple number tweaks)

-Support-More employees, more forum response, quicker email response; good, needs work still; but still good.

The Bad;

-New players discouraged-New players have a ton of things to learn before they can even come close to being anywhere near ready to play the game, getting to level 30 in the past was almost enough preparation for a new player to become used to the game. Nowadays, with so many more items, so many more champions(Slowly increasing in average cost) and with the growing need for a full rune page; it is very hard for new players to get started. Not to mention the growing number of smurfs who can ruin their initial and most pertinent game experience. I would hate to be a new player now.