[Suggestion] Stealth Balance

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

raxx

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

01-04-2010

I think the Stealth skill as taken directly from Warcraft III is a dated rendition with stale mechanics that should be redone.

After 100 or so games I'm far from an expert but I have at least learned how to contend with stealth. No, this post isn't because I got slaughtered by some Twitch or Eve or something, it's only because I just find Stealth to not be very fun in general.

Using stealth, it's great fun to kill someone... but it's always fun to kill people so it's hard to tell whether the stealth really adds to this or not. Where I'm really coming from is the receiving end of stealthers.

Any time there is Stealth on the other team, assuming you know what to do to keep it from owning you there is just one change in normal gameplay - you're going to have a lot less money than you normally do.

How is this any different from having to buy a Banshee's Veil to slow down a Veigar, Ryze or Blitzcrank? Because it isn't necessary to waste a bunch of money at the start of the game. You get the item later after you have made a lot of progression on your build. Also, a Veil only nerfs some of their damage and abilities and can be countered further, while wards and Oracle completely disable stealthers.

TL;DR VERSION:
- Stealth detection items are required early enough in the game that they disrupt the flow of game and make it slower and less fun in general.
- Wards and Oracle are effective but are too hard of a counter, completely shutting down stealth characters at a high cost.
- Stealth detection is relatively difficult to re-counter.
- Please rework stealth so that it adds to the game rather than slowing it down.

Sinistral

01-05-2010