[GUIDE] Rammus the Defensive

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

WhiteMantisX

12-15-2009

Hello Folks!

Just in advance. I've never written a guide before, so I hope this one helps you to be more succesful wih Rammus.

Reasons to play Rammus:

+ very compatible with lots of champion
+ extremely useful in teamfights
+ very good chaser
+ extremely durable

Reasons not to play Rammus:

+ no real killing machine
+ extremely hard early game (due to melee last hitting)
+ needs a lot of experience to be effective

I'm not going to make this guide extremely long, so I will focus on the important things.

Masteries:
I use the classical 9/0/21 build which is pretty much effective with every champion. You are free to use a more defensive build, but Rammus depends more on the way you play him than on his stats.

Spells: I prefer Teleport and Rally/Heal/Fortify.
Teleport is nice to not lose to much EXP from shopping. You sometimes will find yourself in a very hard lane with double Ranged DPS like Teemo+Ashe which can be a pain and will force you back more then once. Therefore a teleport ist helpful.
Fortify is a good choice for early kills if you manage to use a level 2 taunt + fortify. In the endgame, the Fortify will not benefit in kills, and won't help much in defending a tower...it mostly delays the towerkill a few seconds.
Rally is ma favourite because it heals you and gives +30% phy DPS. I mostly combine it when the enemy charges me within my minions with the puncturing taunt. You just pull the enemy trough your own creeps which will attack him until he manages to run back.
Heal is not as powerful as many people think, but it might be okay in some situations.

I won't describe the abilities of Rammus. This guide is more for experienced players that know his skills.

Early game: