Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS


Buys i7 computer with 3.0 GB grahpics cards, lags on medium settings

12
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Wolf Un1t

Senior Member

03-25-2013

Warning: cool story bro ahead

This is a thread explaining how dumb I am, and a fail on whoever pre-built this computer. I bought a computer about a year ago, a very powerful one might I add, with 16 GB of RAM and the same specs you see in the title. However, whenever I tried to play league, it only ran at 30 FPS. I expected this computer to run it at 120 at the very least. Also, the FPS would drop below 30 in team fights. I also tried to play skyrim, but it lagged beyond unplayability on the lowest settings.

I also started starcraft 2 about a week ago, and have the same problem, lagging on the lowest settings possible. I'm so frusterated at this point, paid so much money for a computer that can't even game. I directed my anger towards my radeon graphics card, and tried to go into the CCC to try to fix whatever the hell was wrong with it. However, I could not find the CCC! or the AMD or anything of that sort!

Breakthrough. Whoever built my computer didn't install the freaking radeon driver yet, I found out that I was using Intel (HD) graphics family the whole time. FML! using a weak graphics card for a year when I had a 3 GB card all along! Needless to say I can run every game on the highest settings once I installed the AMD TODAY!


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kinvaras666

Senior Member

03-25-2013

gg



But, to be honest, I am forced to play with my intel HD graphics because otherwise it overheats and turns off.

I still get 45-50 fps


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Postal Twinkie

Wrenchman

03-25-2013

Quote:
Wolf Un1t:
Warning: cool story bro ahead

This is a thread explaining how dumb I am, and a fail on whoever pre-built this computer. I bought a computer about a year ago, a very powerful one might I add, with 16 GB of RAM and the same specs you see in the title. However, whenever I tried to play league, it only ran at 30 FPS. I expected this computer to run it at 120 at the very least. Also, the FPS would drop below 30 in team fights. I also tried to play skyrim, but it lagged beyond unplayability on the lowest settings.

I also started starcraft 2 about a week ago, and have the same problem, lagging on the lowest settings possible. I'm so frusterated at this point, paid so much money for a computer that can't even game. I directed my anger towards my radeon graphics card, and tried to go into the CCC to try to fix whatever the hell was wrong with it. However, I could not find the CCC! or the AMD or anything of that sort!

Breakthrough. Whoever built my computer didn't install the freaking radeon driver yet, I found out that I was using Intel (HD) graphics family the whole time. FML! using a weak graphics card for a year when I had a 3 GB card all along! Needless to say I can run every game on the highest settings once I installed the AMD TODAY!


Don't feel stupid at all, this is very common. When you buy something, you expect it to work and be ready...

I still have people I deal with that can't figure out why their mouse isn't working.....turns out they haven't even turned on the computer.

Another great one, I had an elderly lady using the mouse as a foot pedal, like on a sewing machine. Her and I both got a laugh out of it, as her logic was sound...It looked a lot like a pedal of a sewing machine, and she thought everything was "touch screen these days".


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Wolf Un1t

Senior Member

03-25-2013

Quote:
Postal Twinkie:
Don't feel stupid at all, this is very common. When you buy something, you expect it to work and be ready...

I still have people I deal with that can't figure out why their mouse isn't working.....turns out they haven't even turned on the computer.

Another great one, I had an elderly lady using the mouse as a foot pedal, like on a sewing machine. Her and I both got a laugh out of it, as her logic was sound...It looked a lot like a pedal of a sewing machine, and she thought everything was "touch screen these days".

I have to admit, that last one was hilarious


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Wolf Un1t

Senior Member

03-25-2013

Quote:
Kinvaras666:
gg



But, to be honest, I am forced to play with my intel HD graphics because otherwise it overheats and turns off.

I still get 45-50 fps

Overheats? have you tried getting a cooling system for your comp?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kinvaras666

Senior Member

03-25-2013

Quote:
Wolf Un1t:
Overheats? have you tried getting a cooling system for your comp?



oh... there is a huge thread about it somewhere on ot....

just leave it alone >_>


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Postal Twinkie

Wrenchman

03-25-2013

Quote:
Kinvaras666:
oh... there is a huge thread about it somewhere on ot....

just leave it alone >_>


Nerd twitch is itching...

What type of system do you have? It doesn't happen to be an HP Dv series laptop is it?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kinvaras666

Senior Member

03-25-2013

Quote:
Postal Twinkie:
Nerd twitch is itching...

What type of system do you have? It doesn't happen to be an HP Dv series laptop is it?



yes, you already answered that thread, and I haven't managed to get my notebook fixed.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Postal Twinkie

Wrenchman

03-25-2013

Quote:
Kinvaras666:
yes, you already answered that thread, and I haven't managed to get my notebook fixed.


Did you do the vent mod on it? And/Or new thermal compound?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kinvaras666

Senior Member

03-25-2013

Quote:
Postal Twinkie:
Did you do the vent mod on it? And/Or new thermal compound?

no


12