Maturity is defined by "Perspective"......(How to Improve Yourself)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Doct0r Phil

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-09-2013

This may be a long post, so I appologize ahead of time.

I work as a family counselor for a living, and one thing I have noticed over the years is that the people who make the best changes, most progress, and cross the most bridges are the people who have great perspective. I always wondered a way to define what being "mature" would be. In my observations, I believe, the more perspective a person has also wil define the level of maturity of that person as well.

"Perspective" in this way, means being able to see things outside of their own viewpoints, thoughts, feelings, and beliefs.

-A person with great perspective realizes that the world does not revolve around them.
-A person with great perspective desires to gain knowledge from others.
-A person with great perspective doesn't just live by the "golden rule" (treat others as you want to be treated) but they desire to treat others well. They want to care about how OTHER's want to be treated.
-A person with great perspective understands that they have weaknesses and blindspots. They desire to find those, work on them, and better themselves.
-A person with great perspective tends to be respected by others because he/she is always trying to "hear people out", "show interest in them", and is very respectful.
-A person with great perspective also realizes that they (as an individual) are the only person they can control. They can't change other people. ONLY THEMSELVES!
-A person with great perspective LISTEN's before they SPEAK. Heck, even the Bible says, "There is a time to be silent and a time to speak". Notice that "silent" is first.

To give examples: