How to go past the basics?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Miketrocity

02-26-2013

I am writing to ask how I can improve my play once I understand the basics. I'm still a total noob, not very good with any champions and only have a few that I don't get raped on. I understand obviously the objectives of the game, the importance of last hitting, of playing defensively, not over extending, the difference between the five positions and what their basic role is, ect. All the real basic stuff.

On top of continuing to play games, which I understand is the most important thing to do, I am looking for perhaps some really good guides or videos to watch. I played starcraft 2 and I was able to easily find great tutorial videos on youtube on improving your meta and written guides but I am having trouble figuring out where to go for the same type of stuff for LoL.

When I search for newbie guides all I get is the real basic stuff that I already know, don't turret dive, last hit minions, the goal is to destroy the enemy nexus... that type of stuff. Where are the guides that can help take a beginner to average? Which I am way below right now.

Great Pyrenees

02-26-2013

Ok Lolpro.com will show you guides on champions.
Reignofgaming has 1000 articles (3 new per day) on the current game and how to improve.
Want to know a good build? Find a challenger who plays a champion you like then look them up on LOLking.

Personally I think you should find a champion for EVERY position who you can 'not loose' on. If you can 'not loose' then your team can carry you. You are still a valuable contributor on a team by being well positioned in team fights.

For example:
Top lane: Reneckton, AP warwick
Mid lane: Heimerdinger
Jungle: Warwick
Bottom ADC: Caitlyn
Bottom support: Zilean or Sona