I need some help , but im a really bad writer.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Rademus

02-18-2013

I was wondering if anyone could maybe give me some tips on how to make a cool story that someone could read and really enjoy and feel like they're there watching it like a movie. I wanna write a story about the day Noxus invaded Ionia, and i would like it to be mostly about Dr. Mundo and his point of view of being called upon to fight for his allied city. Any tips would be helpful, from facts of the battles, to writing tips, to how to keep peoples attention and keep them draw in. Anything would be appreciated ty

Cerubois

02-18-2013

I've got some quick tips off the top of my head, but you might not like them. :P

- Read. Reading expands your knowledge on cool ideas you might be able to use elsewhere, morals that mean something to you, and the process of writing itself. You might find a particular style you want to imitate, or you might find a style you don't want to fall into.

- Research. The lore in League of Legends is actually pretty expansive in the background, and there are many opportunities to include various events and other champions in your story. There were a lot of people either within or affected by the Ionian War that are currently in the League. On a side note, I don't think it's ever mentioned that Dr. Mundo was part of the war. It might have been an interest to him, it might not. I think the hardest part, in my opinion, would be writing from his perspective, seeing how far-gone he's become (then again, he might have been a bit more sane 10-13 years ago).

- Write. Not just this story, but writing in general. A lot of people think anyone can just pick up a pen and write a story. But it is a developed skill, just like any other art. You need to practice, see what works, see what doesn't, analyze yourself and see where you can improve, and yes, take criticism to heart. It's tough, it takes a while, but it's worth it.