Playing Ranked When Starting...

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Setz3R

02-07-2013

So I started playing this game and ALL of my friends were in the 30s. Therefore I was always getting matched against really good players so truthfully I didn't feel like I was getting THAT badly outplayed. I boosted to get to 30 and started playing ranked.

I feel like I'm seriously 1 day into the game again. People yelling at me to not play ranked etc. Honestly I know I'm not good, I've only been playing for like 3 1/2 weeks. But why are people so freaking mean. Is it worth it to continue doing ranked to get placed into Bronze and just keep playing ranked? Or should I just stick to more normal games. I know once I get out of placements I think I'll be okay with people around my level (getting placed vs diamonds/plats/golds kinda sucks).

Should I finish placements or wait? Everyone keeps yelling at me -.-

Sereg Anfaug

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

02-07-2013

Wait.

There's a significant difference between a fresh level 30 and an experienced ranked player, even a division 5 bronze player. Granted, many of the low bronzes are down there because they are new(which is what's happening to you, incidentally), but the ones that aren't new, even though their skills are way down at that level, have a huge lead in experience on you.

The default position for starting ranked play used to be 1200 - presumably it's now still in the mid silver tier. This means that, compared to the people you're being matched with, you are probably hundreds if not thousands of games behind them(again I'm referring to veteran ranked players at a silver level - obviously there will be newer players starting out there, or falling through silver if they were carried in their placements).