Who is a good second character if I liked Garen?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

MAGllKARP

02-06-2013

I feel like I need a more "competitive" character. I enjoyed Garen for his simplicity in that all I focused on was a simple build and my offensive abilities for farming and slaying. The most complex defense I had to do was using health potions while farming CS and running away when there was a fight I couldn't win. I have about 3.2k IP and I'm just learning to use wards so I;m not sure where to go from here. I usually take Garen top lane.

Also please don't say Jayce because I hate how he looks :P Aside from that anything is fair game

4Degreez

02-06-2013

Xin Zhao is another OP + simple-to-use character. He is a free-to-try this week. He is good at both top and jungle.

Andarel

02-06-2013

Garen is about as straightforward as it gets - no resource, straight bruiser, high base damage, execution ultimate. It really depends what you're looking for.

As 4Degreez said, look at the free champion rotation this week and try 'em out - you can go into a custom game with just bots and leave early when you're ready, makes things quicker. Xin Zhao is an offensive bruiser like Garen, but he's a lot more focused on making plays with his ultimate because unlike Garen he can't W-Q to run away if things go sour.

If you like bruisers though, it depends if you want to go utility (Malphite, Amumu, Udyr, Jayce) or damage (Irelia, Olaf, Garen, Darius). Also, try other types of champions - ranged AD (Graves), AP carry (Viktor, the AP Kayle build, Annie), and the straight tank that is Nautilus. It'll give you a better idea of what you find fun and what you don't.

TehomCD

02-06-2013