Need Help on Olaf Top

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

zhengsta

01-30-2013

I started playing Olaf top lane recently and have been quite dominant in lane. However, before I take him into ranked I need some more experienced players to clear some things up.

1. Starting Items: I've always felt it is safer to start with a ward so I can push the lane freely and sustain in lane until I am able to get my big ticket item. Most guides say boots3 or cloth5 but I feel like Faerie Charm + Rej Bead + pot + ward would be a better start if facing an easier lane which is often the case when playing Olaf. Is philosopher stone still a good first item on Olaf top?

2. Masteries: People tend to go 9/21/0 most often which I completely agree with based on his kit. In the Defensive Tree, I see people skip Honor Guard which I don't understand. Is it really that bad? Also I've never thought defender was that great but seems many people take that on Olaf. In the Offensive Tree, there are mixed reviews of taking summoner's wrath or not taking it. It always seems like since I'm taking ghost ignite summoner's wrath is a must have. With the remaining 3 points in tier 1 should I get fury or sorcery?

3. Runes: Which quint is the best on top lane Olaf and why? I've been using speed quints but also own flat HP and flat AD

4: Items: Should I rush Warmogs first or should I rush Frozen Mallet? I've had really good experience with Warmogs but many guides say go Phage then Mallet. Also which item that builds out of kindle gem is the best? I'm leaning towards Shurelyas since that item builds out of philo stone and it would work well with my starting items. Heard people say zekes is good also spirit visage.

Please also state your elo if you play Olaf in ranked.

DashOfLoyalty

01-30-2013

Top ELO: 1353
Current ELO: 1305
Ranked Wins as Olaf: 2/2