Kiting, what is it?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

JoEpic

01-29-2013

-To the forums
I have heard this term thrown around, and i was wondering what it is?
here are the questions i have
- what is it (definition)
- basic item build for kiting
- champions good at kiting
- early mid and late game overview (what you do)
I thank you for imparting knowledge beforehand
Thank you
-EnkindledAngle

Orugund

01-29-2013

Kiting is short-ish for "kill in time," (source: experience in other games) basically it means you get an enemy to follow you so that you're moving away from it and damaging it, AND keeping its attention while avoiding taking any damage yourself. Unfortunately I'm new to the game as well, so I wouldn't be able to help you with and good builds or champions to use.

TrueSkillz

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

01-29-2013

kiting is the process of attacking and moving away from the enemy. so say they are chasing you and your a ranged champ. attack and move away. just keep doing that if they keep chasing you. if they are low enough and they start to run. then you start to chase.

best items are items that have a slow
frozen mallet
tri force

any adc can kite well

Andarel

01-29-2013

Kiting might be an acronym, but it revolves around staying just out of reach of enemies while still dealing damage so that damage builds up on them without you taking any.

The best champions for kiting are always ranged; in fact, it's almost impossible to kite someone without being ranged. An excellent example of this is Teemo - if you try to reach him he can pop Move Quick to stay out of reach or escape, and run away through shrooms while turning to autoattack every so often. Since you will be slowed from his ultimate he can get free damage without you actually reaching him.