Does elo hell exist?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kromb

01-28-2013

Before we dive into this topic allow me to give you a quick introduction. My ign is Kromb, and I've been playing league since season 1. I never truely became serious about ranked play untill the ladder half of S2, so I'm still learning about competative play. I've played in a gold ranked 5s team and when I tried my luck with solo que, I placed at 1200 elo. Now I personally believe that I belong in a much higher elo, and thus started my research on this very complex topic.
So let me state that elo hell does exist before explain why... elo hell does exist. Now there several reasons why one person on a team of 5 losses a specific game.
1)One of the lanes gets fed and snowballs early. Then overpowers the enemy team single handedly.
2) your team has very bad communication, and even though you maybe winning the k/d ratio, the enemy are wining in objectives.
3) your whole team flat out sucks at everything.
4) lane phase is good, but you fail to have successful team fights.
5) and of course a good ol' fashion troll. (Those f#@$ers)

Yet one might argue, that these same reasons could benefit your team. True, but what about the games (and I have personally experienced several) that your k/d is amazing, your positioning has been close to perfect, and after you loose you realize. You are the only one on your team playing well. You tried positive reenforcement, even trying to give commands and take control. Nothing. Yes there are times I have lost a ranked game and I took responsibility, but more often then not I have a pos k/d and a high cs.

In summary, if you believe you are better than your elo rank. Look at your games (win or loss) and compair your cs to the opposing team. Compair your damage done and k/d/a. If you see that you are almost constantly above everyone else, then you my friend are in elo hell. It is not a specific rating, but varies per person.

Kromb

01-29-2013