Solo Que and the hostile environment it creates.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

OPJellyScrub

01-28-2013

I just started playing recently (read after christmas) and can't figure out why Solo que even exists. I'm by no means a skilled player my rating was 1259 after placement but solo que seems real out of place in context to the game.

5v5 is team orientated so the concept of throwing a mix of players into forming teams/picking/counter picking seems ridiculous.

The timer starts immediately on the bans so as soon as you get in the room people are calling out there stuff. AD Carry, Top Top Mid Mid. I'm mid. No F U I'm mid blah blah blah. So right from the beginning it's not a team being assembled but a selfish land grab.
There is nothing solo about the game really. Mid / Top lane all need help with ganks to gain advantages, you can't defend the whole map by yourself. So if it's a team game why even have solo que?

It would make sense to me if before queuing up you had to select your role. So if you are a top. You select top. If you are a mid you select mid. etc. That way when you are all thrown in together you have 1 of each role and there is no bickering. You could have a separate ELO for each role. Then you'd know if you really ARE a better jungler, or support or what not.

Right now it's like okay throw everybody in, fight over spots, well now I'm stuck playing a role I haven't practiced, etc. etc.

I know Riot is working on this whole "improve the community" initiative, but a lot of issues could be sorted out this way.

To make it even better you could que your top 5 champs for the role ahead of time that way when the game is up the player banning can actually SEE who you prefer ahead of time.

It's simple stuff like this which I can't figure out why it is the way it is now.

The whole system creates conflict from the very beginning, and no surprise it's created a toxic environment.