Randuin's v. Warmog's

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Griseldurf

01-27-2013

So after watching both IEM Katowice and the LCS qualifier this weekend in Poland I saw that Warmog is the single most popular item in the game, period. I saw it on standard champs like Olaf and top laners, but I also saw it on a mid laner or two and even a Kog Maw I think once. I don't play top a ton so I'm not an expert on the math involved with some items key to bruisers, but it seems that Randuin's should be used a lot more than it is even in comparison to Warmog and Sunfire. It has Giant's Belt, the most popular component, and adds a good effect from Warden's Mail and when you finish Omen you get the full stats plus the slow that is always nice. I know resistances are not as good compared to S2, but did Omen fall off that much?

67chrome

01-27-2013

I'm fairly certain Omen is still the #1 item to counter auto-attackers as it gives a trifecta of defenses against auto-attacks.

Warmog's gives you defense against absolutly everything though. And if you're a squishy champion (like a solo mid mage or a carry) magical burst damage can be a much larger threat. Or even physical burst damage from the likes of "AD Casters", that generally aren't as negativly impacted by Cold Steel as one would hope. And even champions like Vayne, Elise, Malzahar, Brand, and Kog'Maw have so much flat damage added to their %health damage you're still seeing a noticeable increase in EHP against them.

Health is currently one of the most efficient attributes to get early-on as well, were resistances only really end up being cost-effective when you already have ~level 18 health values - and even then only if the damage you take is predominantly physical or predominantly magical, if it's a mix of both health maintains rather solid cost-efficiency for a bit longer. So even if you pick up Randuin's Omen, it's likely after a Warmog's.

EmperorCookie

01-29-2013

I'll just leave this here.