Why Dorans?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Onij

01-26-2013

Hey, noob here.

Why do people buy Dorans items? They don't build into anything and they give pretty minimalistic stats

Abe Lincoln

01-26-2013

They can be good, especially bot lane if you're against a champion with a lot of burst early because the little bit of hp can make a big difference and they still give you the 10 damage that a sword does. They are basically to survive the early game

Chronotakular

01-26-2013

They can help with sustaining during the laning phase. I used to think the same think, but after buying them for a bit I started to notice a huge impact with my performance and what not. Don't be so quick to judge and give them a chance!

Py3

01-26-2013

Yeah the whole idea of dorans items is to provide greater/different stats than their counterparts like,

Doran's blade - long sword
dorans ring - ability tome
dorans sheild - cloth armor

that way people have options and everyone isn't buying boots and pots all day long as their starting items. They make early game more interesting than it would be without them.

Sleipnir of Hel

01-26-2013

The new passives on them make them a great situational early item. Doran's Blade is great on ad carries who are a little behind and need some more life per hit, more damage, and a bit more hp. Also works on champions who auto attack a lot at top.

Doran's Ring is great on AP Carries. Sure that 2 mana per 5 sucks, but the hp and the ap are helpful, and 5 mana back for every successful last hit actually can make you play better, because you realize the only way for you regenerate mana properly is to get those last hits.