Akali: Midlane Season 3

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Hairyhulk

01-25-2013

Hope everyone is having a great day.

So I recently picked up akali and I am loving this champion. She is really fun to play and snowballs like a mofo. I was curious however how she is to be played/built in season 3.
I feel she doesn't fit the mold for a current top lane bruiser matchup, but with the increase in popularity of the AD bruiser mid lane, I have some questions.

Firstly, Ad or Ap runes? At the moment I'm running flat armor/mr seals and glyphs, with ap quints and ad marks. I have a 30/0/0 mastery as well.

Secondly, what items do you start? I start with boots and 3 pots. I've heard Scarra say on his stream that people who start boots and 3 pots in Season 3 are sub-par. But I feel grabbing 9 potions and a ward is over kill. The mobility early REALLY helps. Any thoughts?

Lastly...what items do you build? I rush revolver into gunblade, and then pick up an abyssal. After these two items I don't really know what to go for. I'm thinking Liandry's, DFG and GA. I'm not sure how solid that is, but it offers massive burst damage with great sustain damage and just enough durability to make it out alive (note the GA lol).

I'd really like any feedback as to how anyone on these forums builds/plays her in season 3. Thanks guys!

ROOFIECOPTER

01-25-2013

Heya. I play akali at mid 1400s and do fairly well. (40 games with her. 70%win and 10-4kd)

I also run 30/0/0 masteries and have flat ap/ad runes.

However my build start ia different. I start longsword and 2 pots. You get a bit more damage and a tiny bit more sustain. Like you said, 9 pots is overkill on her when you already have a fair bit of sustain in lane. And I don't get boots for the sole reason that I don't need the mobility that early on. I stay in lane and farm til 6 for the most part.