Jungle: Spirit Stone vs Philosopher?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Gustav The Great

01-08-2013

Ok so I'm new to jungling and really the game itself. I play Amumu. I've been watching vids and reading guides to get a better understanding of the mechanics. I see a lot of people get the Philosopher's Stone and only a handful go for the Spirit Stone. I personally think Spirit Stone is the way to go. I can start with the machete and 5 pots at the start and still come out with similar health and mana regen for only 100 more. not to mention later in the match I can upgrade it to Spirit of the Spectral Wraith later which gives me much needed spell vamp and cooldown. Can someone more experienced tell me if this is sound logic or I am over looking a massive issue with not have +5g every 10sec. Thank you.

LogicalTautology

01-08-2013

Anyone who is building Philo instead of Spirit Stone does not know what they are doing. Build Spirit Stone every time.

To add to that: You generally do not want both, since it is a lot of money spent on early Mana Regen. The only champ off the top of my head that wants to go Machete->Philo is Skarner, since he requires Reverie to do his job anyways. But in that case, you do not upgrade your Machete, and sell it late-game. On pretty much any other champ that does not require (and by that, I do NOT mean "build it in S2", but actually champs that NEED it) Reverie should skip Philo in the jungle.

CounterSnipe

01-08-2013

Philo stone isn't a good item in my opinion anymore. Here is why:

1) The regenerations stats have been nerfed and are too low to be used for jungle sustain.
2) With the regen being nerfed, the g/10 is the only really attractive thing about the item, but the only way to gain utility from it is to not upgrade it till late game. However, you actually want the upgrade prior to late game to enhance your ganks...