@Praeco and the music team: How can I get involved?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

BrohannesJahms

01-07-2013

Wall of text ahead, but I would be happy if you’d give it a read and leave a comment, Rioter or not. This might also be the wrong subforum, but I don’t know where else it should go.

I’ll start with a short story for a bit of context.

Three years ago I was a freshman with zero doubt that the pre-med track was for me. I busted my butt in classes for a year and a half of unsatisfying returns but my heart just wasn’t in it. It was at about that time that I started playing League of Legends. Some friends introduced me to the game in March of 2011, just before the release of Lee Sin.

Before then, I hadn’t really been playing video games much because of school. I had been an avid gamer all through middle school and high school, but when your mind is set on pre-med there’s really not much time for that anymore. In April of that year, I nearly broke down. I was so miserable with the life I saw in front of me and just wanted to scream. Thankfully, two of the greatest mentors of my life were there to help me through that time.

My parents are some of the most amazing people I know. My mom said, “If you don’t want to do pre-med, then for God’s sake do what you love instead, BrohannesJahms!” It was the push I needed to say the hardest thing I have ever said. I told them I wanted to write music for video games. They didn’t protest or try to dissuade me. They told me I had to make this happen if it’s what I really want.