A Simple Solution

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

tbagchamp

01-03-2013

TL;DR: Losing ELO due to a DC stinks, we've all been frustrated over it. I offer a few small ideas in order to negate the loss of a DC.

Alright so I just started playing ranked a few days ago. In my first 4 games, 3 consisted of a DC on my team. Today my friend and I duo queued twice, won the first game and we were doing very well in the second game. It would have been very, very hard for them to come back. Until we had a DC and we lost.

Now I'm no pro and I don't weigh ELO as very important to my life. League is just a hobby and I would love a system that places me against similarly skilled players reliably.

I believe very much in the ELO system, I think that with the exception of DCs and AFKs it is very accurate. I think Riot is very smart by using ELO.

However when I lose elo in a game that was a fairly easy win because it was a 4 v 5 situation I feel like I've been cheated. If I lost a game wherein I dominated my lane and lost due to someone else, but it was still 5 v 5, I would not mind. I would still believe it to be fair. But when you lose a game in which you have a severe handicap? ugh.

Anyways I had a few ideas:
1. Turn games with a DC into normal games. No elo distribution involved. The problem then is obviously people who leave right before their nexus falls in order to save elo. Im sure that the DC catcher would find and ban them pretty quickly, but still that would be a huge problem and it could also waste a lot of time.