Ryze on top lane

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Ezaekiel

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

01-03-2013

So I just started my ranked matches and finished my first 10 ever. I was placed into silver ranking, pretty sweet deal considering I've never done it before. I have been playing mainly Ryze on top lane. While it seems a little unorthodox to do it, it's been working very well in my favor and the only problems I have had with it was a match against a Jayce, whom I beat in the lane but was quickly destroyed by a roaming Eve/Jax combo.

So my question to GD is, Ryze top, just lucky that it works in my favor or does it carry some weight behind it? Are my opponents bad or am I better?

Ravy6Nuts

01-03-2013

Crosbie

01-03-2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravy6Nuts View Post
I wish they could stop you from making new forum accounts.

As for the topic, I quite like the idea.. I've never tried it, but considering spell damage doesn't draw minion aggro; you could bully most bruisers pretty hard top with Ryze without taking any damage in return. He can disengage easily with his W for jungle ganks, farm safely with his ranged autos, and if he needs to, he has great wave clearing power / sustain post-6 with his ult.

I could see it being a really good choice, but then, I suck; especially in top lane :>

Skagwatcher

01-03-2013

Ryze top is kinda viable because of how much he punishes melee. He has a very powerful and short CD root, an MS buff combined with spellvamp, and his no skillshot nature means that if you go up for a last hit and he's near the creep wave, you're taking some harass. You were probably having problems with Jayce because he was staying back poking away at you.

Marduk

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

01-03-2013

Once I saw a Ryze beat Darius in the top lane... Sadly the Darius was in our team..

Justin BeiBR

01-03-2013