How I think we could do away with Summoner Levels fairly.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Ask Gamermac

12-18-2012

HI. I'm a summoner.

Back in beta, I started playing LoL. I mained Evelynn in my day, even when everyone said she was a horrible pick. I remember the olden days, the Dodge stat on Phantom Dancers that could stack to 100%, stackable Sunfire Capes on Evelynn that made enemies freak out because their health suddenly randomly starts dropping and all their minions explode, and when we had to buy Recalls (The Blue Pill). I decided to quit a while back, getting completely rid of my account by quite literally giving it to a random stranger. Recently, I started back up, and I'm instantly reminded how annoying and pointless summoner levels are.

What's their purpose? Why do we have 3 tiers of runes that are just IP-dumps if you're buying Tier 1 or 2, and when you hit level 20 you gotta stock up on Tier 3 Runes, etc.. Plus, matchmaking never makes games balanced if your summoner level is low. You're either playing with Smurfs who made new accounts just to stomp newbies and laugh, brand new people who have no clue what they're doing, or people who queued up with their level 30 friend who has Tier 3 Runes and 30 Mastery Points who's gonna 1v5 the entire team as Lee Sin.

The only balanced games are ones that are all Level 30, which are only possible after you've slaved over the game in the Summoner Level equivalent of Elo Hell for like a month. I've bought four XP Boosts already and I'm still only level 17 after well over a month, granted I don't play that dang much but still.

Some might say "Just play Bot matches." Well, Bots are designed to be level 30, so until summoner level 20, they're completely unfair and just roll you hopelessly.