Discussion on Garen!!

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Summoning Izzy

11-09-2012

Hi i'm not a high level or anything, in fact i'm fairly new to LoL.

I want to discuss Garen and what others think of him. I'm very curious to see what people's perspectives are on the topic and hopefully be able to help me decide if i should continue playing as Garen or "update" to Darius.

My main concern is i feel i am building Garen well and perhaps my build can influence people's opinions to agree with me. As it is i am currently level 16, have an AD rune page for Garen (tier 2, incomplete), and have my masteries focused mostly on the offense role.

My build mostly consists of:

1-Boots of swiftness
2-Warmogs
3-Force of Nature
4-Thornmail
5-Sunfire Cape
6-(never really get to this point, but i would want to go for infinity edge)

I have been pitted against Darius and sorry to say but no Darius has quite overcome me just yet, just waiting for that moment so i can finally say, "i guess i'm getting Darius now."

please if you can try out this form of Garen because past perspectives are a bit outdated and i have not seen anything on 2012 Garen so i've come on here to see what i can get. Thanks guys and Gals for your responses!!!

mambawarrior0

11-09-2012

Garen and Darius are far different.
The only things really similar to them are that their ults are executes, and they have spins (although they are way different, one being instant and the other doing insane damage, but over a period of time.) and next-attack moves.
Neither is really "better" or worse. If you play well as Garen, there is no real reason to switch to a champion you don't like.

Comments on your build:
Boots of swiftness are generally a bad choice. They are quite expensive boots, and the wording is convoluted. It sounds like you get 3x the speed as normal boots, but how it really works is this:
Speed increase=Enhanced movement*20 units+30.