Ranked vs. Normal

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Instant Lock

09-20-2010

I started playing this game right before Season 1, so I was super excited to see that there was going to be a ranked system right when I hit max level.

However, the more I lurk on these forums the more I see people complaining about the MM system, and about "ELO hell".

This struck me as odd because even at level 24 my teammates seem to actually understand what they are doing compared to level 1's. I saw a huge increase in skill, and while yes some games have feeders, overall my games seem pretty even in terms of skill.

So why in higher level ranked matches are people complaining about lack of skill when in normal level 24 matches I see consistently good play? Do people get worse with levels?

Also to avoid any flamers, I've been playing dota for about 4 years so I came into this game being pretty good, so I know what bad play looks like.

Jasonm75

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

09-20-2010

ok

Chawwyyyyyyyyyyy

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

09-20-2010

Because having general knowledge and an OP champion makes people seem good at a game, however being at a rating where your champion's built in OPness can no longer carry you, you tend to fail and cause your team to suffer.

halfNakedNinja

09-20-2010

because people go into ranked knowing how to play 1 champion. and expect to always get their 1 champ, and then when the don't get it they choose a random one and play terribly. so as you may have guessed the majority of people who are going with the "i will learn one champ and rule the world" plan are causing others to grieve.

Kiryu

09-20-2010

Your level does not equal your skill. Someone can be level 30 and still have no clue how to play as a team, and someone at level 1 can completely dominate the game.