What is recipe? How to use item tree?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RetroFanatik

11-15-2009

Hi all,

I am very new to the realm of these type of games. I am level 8 in this game, but I am still a noob. Anyways, I have not played WoW, DOTA, or anything related. But I find LoL fun.

I have a couple questions that I tried searching for in the forums.

Here they are:

1) How do you use the item trees?
2) I have heard "recipes," what is it?

For example Rylai's Scepter, there are three items under it. If I get those three items will it automatically get the Rylai's Scepter? or do I have to additionally pay gold for the scepter?

Once I get the scepter, what if I sold the 'ingredients'? Will the scepter I bought go away?

Sorry for asking a simple question. Reason I am asking, is because I have been one-shotting it and buy the scepter for over 3k, but that takes forever. I see other players get items that are very strong before I can even get a 2nd big item.

Thanks for any help that I receive!

Vaporius

11-15-2009

Recipes come from DotA, where the combination items, like Rylai's Scepter (as an example), required a few items, and usually an additional cost for merging them

Using your example:

Rylai's Scepter
Blasting Wand, Amplifying Tome, Giant's Belt

Means you can buy each of those three items separate, and then pay the small cost to merge them into the Scepter. Some items, it is better to buy parts of it and just make repeat trips to the shop to upgrade and merge them.

PredatoryKnight

11-18-2009

they made it way less confusing in this game, if you click on an item it gets the smaller items that make it for you so you don't have to worry about clicking on each individual item to get the whole, just click on stuff and you will be fine

Jothki

11-19-2009