FarahBoom Artwork Tutorial!!!

12345 ... 8
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

FarahBoom

08-30-2012

Deviant Art Link for those who want it - http://farahboom.deviantart.com/
Hello one and all!

I am FarahBoom and i have been doing artwork for other summoners for a few months now and i have been asked by a few of my fans over this time to make a tutorial about how i go about making my work. So if you want to learn how to draw your own champions with some real impact pay close attention!
All of my examples below are with the work of graphite, scanning, and Photoshop CS5.

First of all, have a clear understanding of what your champion/character looks like. You cannot make a convincing design for others to enjoy if you yourself do not understand your character inside and out.

Keeping your lines very loose while intially drawing your character can help you quickly find the scale of the body that you want. For example, if your character has very large arms but a smaller body, then it's very important to show that, so be sure those arms are big enough! One rule that people often forget is DON'T EVER DRAW DETAIL BEFORE IT'S NECESSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!
It's fun to start drawing a persons face but if you draw a great looking face but then there isn't enough space for the full body, guess what? You gotta erase that face you worked so hard on OR start allllll over. So just avoid that at all costs. Details are meant for when you know exactly what your doing.

Drawing, drawing again, and re-drawing is so important to fully realizing how your character looks and how their outfit works with their body. As you can see below, lass's design changed greatly as i drew her again and again to realize how she should look and if you look carefully, each piece of her outfit is clearly realized as to where it goes and why.
Attachment 519070 Attachment 519071 Attachment 519094 Attachment 519095