Low elo ranked help

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

trapnasty

08-30-2012

I've been playing League for about 6 months now off and on. I just hit 30 maybe a month and a half ago. The friends I play with are 1700+ and when we play ranked, I do rather well considering my low elo (1k lul). But when I play SoloQueue I usually get: A: a troll. B: a disconnect. and/or C: Someone who feeds their lane.
My best lanes are solo top and mid, my question is, what are the best champions in those lanes to carry out of this elo. I can also adc, but not my best role to play.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Lethadind

08-30-2012

First off, it is actually quite easy to keep up with a team that is doing well, even if you aren't as skilled as them, because they end up feeding you. Getting into the mindset that you belong in 1700+ ELO because you have a team of friends that's there is dangerous.

Trolls are honestly easily handled in my opinion. From the beginning let everyone know you'll take any role that's needed, and just do your best to be comical. Just by seeing someone who wants to work with the team will raise the morale of your teammates. It's sounds super stupid, but I've seen it work dozens of times. Plus not "expecting" a role puts you in a different mood - that of a carry (you're going to do what needs to be done to win the game, etc.) - so you actually play better.

Disconnects can't be helped, but you can honestly still win games 4v5. It takes great coordination, but it can still be done - especially if everyone's mindset is "We're gonna win this damn game." Often the other team's mindset is "Wow, ha, we win."

Trolls and disconnects aren't nearly as common as people think they are.