Rabadon's Deathcap is kinda... boring, IMO.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Penakoto

08-14-2012

Here's the thing, pretty much every champion that relies on Ability Power, has to get the Deathcap, but the thing is, it's a really boring item.

It gives you a huge boost in AP, but nothing else. There is no passive besides giving more AP, no other stats other than AP, it doesn't build from anything interesting, it's the very definition of the trope Boring, but Practical.

Infinity Edge I'd say is the closest parallel, for roles desiring AD boosts, but the Infinity Edge also offers critical chance, and a boost to the damage dealt by critical hits. It's enough to make the item feel like it's more than just a straight damage booster, despite that being it's entire purpose.

I have a few suggestions that could make it a more interesting item.

These are just suggestions, I'm no expert on balance or anything, so don't take the following as the only possible solution.

Perhaps reduce the base AP, but increase the Passive % gain to compensate, while also adding a third stat. Turning it from the must have item that it is, to a situational, build specific item intended for people who gain a lot of AP from their other items?

Or, why not have it be built from Kage's Lucky Pick, instead of Blasting Wand? Blasting Wand already builds into 11 other items, while Kage's Lucky Pick build's into only 2. It would at least give you a Gp10 to hold onto while waiting to build the cap, even if you don't build the Deathcap right away. Of course, the price of creating the deathcap would have to be adjusted.

I play a lot of AP champions, and I love having so many cool items to choose from, but Rabadon's Deathcap isn't one of them, yet if I don't build one, I'm holding myself back.

TLDR; Rabadon's Deathcap needs something to make it more interesting, or build from something more interesting, the huge boost to AP is useful, but not interesting or fun.

bob000