Mid-Level Play help

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

kryowyrm

10-29-2009

Let me start this by saying I'm a noob. I have never played DOTA.

That said I like to think I understand at least the very basics of the game at this point. Last hitting, harrassing the other heroes in my lane, not getting killed by towers etc. Early Game stuff.

Where I seem to have trouble is Mid and Late game. One of two things happens, I can play defensively and keep my death number down, or I play aggressive and get a few kills and die more often.

I get yelled at a good bit for feeding the other team, but no one seems to have any suggestions on avoiding this. I understand why this is important to avoid, but the only way I seem to not die is if I just hang back and snipe a little. Problem is this nets me no kills few assists.

I did a tutorial practice game or two, and while it's commendable that people take the time to show noobs the ropes, the information was pretty basic.

I guess I'm wondering if anyone runs advanced tutorial games or if I'm just doing something immensely wrong.

I usually play corki or rammus depending on if the team needs tanks or not.

Shizz

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

10-29-2009

To me, it doesn't sound like the issue is you, but rather your teammates.

Communication is key! If you are solo-queueing and no one is really "leading" or giving direction, then you're going to have to step up to the plate. Around mid-game is when the team ganking begins. Your team should setup 3-5 man ganks and roam around the map. If you are successfully ganking, even though your team is grouped, you all should be leveling (because you're killing their champs and getting last hit or at least an assist) and getting a good amount of gold. After you've killed at least 3 of their champs, you can proceed to get the Sigils (neutral buffs - Lizard or Golem) or take out dragon for the extra XP + gold.