suggestion : ranked solo queue peer evaluation

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Sparth

08-21-2010

Due to many frustrating ranked solo queue matches and seeing my rating constantly decrease due to people leaving, going afk, or just plain not wanting to fight as part of a team I have been doing some brainstorming about how this could be fixed. And I'm happy to announce that an idea has come to mind.

The idea came to me from my undergraduate degree. I did a business degree so there would always be a lot of team projects to do with classmates. And one of the key components a teacher would use in grading would be peer feedback. In other words, if everyone on the team disliked an individual's contribution to the team, their grade would be altered downwards. Similarly, if peers felt an individuals contribution was above average, then that individuals grade would be pushed upwards.

I think this would be a good feature to implement into solo queue. As it is, solo queue rating is purely a reflection of how good your past teams were. It has absolutely nothing to do with how you as an individual perform. As such, your rating is purely based on luck and who you get matched up with and against during a queue. Getting some kind of adjusted rating, based on peer evaluation, should add a certain amount of individuality to someone's rating.

In practice I foresee some pretty amazing results. For example, if the whole team rates one person extremely poorly (for leaving the game for example). That individual takes all the negative rating hit and the 4 other players stay at the same rating as they were before the game started.