What are some good basic strategies for Noobs

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

HellaJihad

10-28-2009

Hey, I'm brand new to LoL and I never played DoTA much. What are some basic strategies(beyond the obvious, destroy the nexus, don't die to towers, etc.) that would be easy to do for the unskilled.

nekitamo

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Master Recruiter

10-28-2009

Play Master Yi or Ryze. Look up guides for them in this section of the forums.

Drexl

10-28-2009

Watch and learn from other players. Play a few games against bots to get used to things and a certain character, then jump into a game with some actual people, many people you will find in game will be willing to give you some advice and some sense of direction, how they do it however may not always be pleasant!

Holepuncher

10-28-2009

Dota, LoL, and other similar games are all about rapid decision making. You need to learn how to quickly assess a situation to determine if you have the advantage or the disadvantage. If you have the advantage, attack, if you don't, retreat. It sounds really simple, but this seems to be a concept that new players to the genre are slow to grasp. This game does not play like quake deathmatch, and kamikaze tactics are rarely beneficial to you or your team.

Heres some general tips:

-keep an eye on the enemies on the mini-map. If any of the enemies are missing, assume that they are coming for you and be cautious

-keep track of your health and mana. The lower they are, the more cautious you should be and vice versa

-communicate with your team. If you need help in a your lane, ask for it. If an enemy goes missing, call it out.

-practice getting the last hit on minions. This can dramatically increase the rate that you earn gold.