Advice to get into Ranked

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Sarkhon

03-11-2012

Hello,

I'm new to LoL, and just hit level 20. I'm not to 30 yet, but I'm looking forward to playing ranked once I get there, as I've been successful playing many different games throughout my life. Since playing, I've found that I gravitate to Tank roles and Support, primarily support. I've purchased a few champions so far (Teemo, Janna, Soraka, Amumu, Ashe and Swain), and have found that the first four champ's are the ones I play most often, trying out the support and tank champions that are free each week, and performing poorly with anyone labeled a Carry or Mage. I know not everybody can be a carry, but I've recently read in a few places that it's impossible to do well in Ranked if you are primarily Support champs, and that you'll end up in ELO Hell really quickly. I was hoping that there might be some advice for someone who wants to play the Support Role in Ranked, as I can spend the last ten levels working on getting even better at support (I generally get 1-2 kills, only die 1-2 times, and end up with 20+ assists), or instead work on improving my Carry/Mage skills. Any advice from the pro's??

Thanks for any advice you can give me!!

ShameWoW

03-11-2012