Decide my longterm IRL fate.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Vladrik

07-31-2010

This is sort of a cry out to 20 somethings who live a relatively satisfying life

I am a disenfranchised 18 year old kid. Standard, middle class kid who has srs decisions to make.

My parent's want me to do what makes me happy, without setting me on a paved course through life. Naturally, I turn to people who have a common interest (no real friends anymore, mind you)

So I graduated high school, and have gotten a taste of the "real world". Working 8 hours a day as a telemarketer, plus a big paper route. Average of 9.5 hours of work per day. Mind you, I don't have rent and have no bills or anything to pay. Just saving money until I get into the real "real world". Telemarketing sucks. Bad. Working a job where everyone you talk to hates you, is not fun. But it is good money.

I realized that having a college degree gives you the fun jobs, but I did poorly in HS, and the debt scares me. Nevertheless, it's still a huge consideration.

So, I'm asking you older LoL players, what did you do with your life and what would you have done differently?

TLDR: What do?

Poet

07-31-2010

At 21 I abandoned a ****ty graveyard shift job that paid me good money; took up a comfortable job at Borders making less. Got serious about community college courses; got my associates which allowed me to get into Arizona State without any concern about my terribad GPA and horrible SAT scores. Meet my girlfriend there (whom I plan to propose to), and I'm now one of millions of college grads looking for work. My advice to you is to at least finish up your associates at a junior college; you'll save yourself a lot of money and that will buy you time to consider what you want to do. Once you have that, the University level goes by pretty fast.