Beserker Greaves

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Raepherion

07-24-2010

I started playing the game a week or so ago and am having fun. I feel like a have a pretty good handle on the basic game mechanics and strategies, and now I want to focus on becoming a smarter player.

I just starting browsing the forums to look for tips and strategies, etc., and I noticed several people dissing on Beserker Greaves as a noob item to get.

I was wondering why this is? At first glance they seem to be a nice item to get for someone who wants to focus on attack speed and has some range (i.e. Ashe in my case). What is the main argument against Beserker Greaves, and what is the preferred alternative and why?

Thanks in advance.

Zenbear

07-24-2010

I was thiking the same thing. I've even seen some guides in leaguecraft that use them and they had high ratings.

xpsychedelico

07-24-2010

In most situations, Berserker's Greeves are not the item of choice unless you are building an AS champion, and even so, situational boots tend to be the best. Ashe benefits more from crit chance and damage than AS, because the longer she takes to take a shot, the higher her % chance of criting. Someone like TF would benefit from AS because of Stacked Deck, and many people build him completely AS.

The reason why Berserkers Greeves are hated on is because AS is easily obtainable in so many other items (or just buy a recurve bow that gives more AS anyway), while Dodge Boots and Mercury Treads give you some defensive stats that are not as easily obtainable in a standard build. Dodge boots give Armor and some Dodge, which is very good against a physical heavy team. Mercury Treads offer magic resist and a 35% reduction time on most disables, which is not only huge, but also unobtainable with any other item.

kepowz

07-24-2010

Exactly what xpsychedelico said.