Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

Q about Doran's

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Halcione

02-03-2012

So, I'm relatively new at this game still, and there's been something thats bugging me for quite a bit.

You see, whenever I start making my builds, I always hesitate to buy Doran's items. I personally preffer to work straight towards core items (IE/PD for ad carries, and so on), after all, it just seems the most efficient gold-wise to me. But in every single "pro" match i watch, every player stacks Doran's early on. I tend to have my first core item relatively early while pro players seem to get it rather late (well late from my perspective, i suppose from theirs its timely). I also see "pro" players buying the full item right off the bat (except for IE where they buy BFS), from my perspective, they just seem to stack Doran's and just sit gathering gold until they have the total amount for the item they want (or a bit less if they are selling a Doran's to get it).

I see the appeal of Doran's items, they have very rounded effects that really help early game, and later you can just sell them back to get better items. But this just does not seem very efficient to me. For example, i've tried stacking some Doran's before, and i find myself in situations where had i not bought them, i would have had enough money for a strong core item. Plus, I personally seem to perform better overall when i dedicate my gold to slowly making my core items instead of stacking Doran's.