An Expert's Guide to 'Noobs'

1234511 ... 24
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

okrichie

06-10-2010

Experts Guide to Knewbs

Hello everyone! My name is Richard and I am a noob. I hope you’re having a great week.

Great, now the introductions are over I'd like to elaborate a little on a topic that's really been bugging me. The way people behave in this game (and others to be fair).

Community is a big deal in League of Legends (LoL) and even more so, team work. Winners have aspects of both firmly under their belt.

I'm very sick of being treated badly or even just seeing others being treated badly for very silly reasons and I felt it worth explaining to people, why people are the way they are.

That's right. The complexities of a game like this seem to be straight forward to some and yet the social side of friendly conversation and teamwork don't always seem to come so easily.

So now we've all been introduced, let's discuss..

Part One: Look it up, rubadub!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humility

In actual fact, this is all you need to know. If you're playing a game of any kind with fellow human beings (or aliens if you're reading this post first contact), humility is pretty much your trump card.

Let me put it to you this way, if you're humble and people make mistakes in game, at least you didn't make yourself look foolish by being rude to someone without having all the facts.

Part Two: Get all the facts.

So you're in game and there's someone you're itching to yell at for being what you call a ‘noob’.

Firstly, noob isn't in the dictionary, neither is it on wikipedia, so you're going to want to avoid colloquialisms as best as you can when dealing with people you've never met before; especially given the international culture. You don't want any misunderstandings!