@Riot - Why use Adobe Air?

First Riot Post
12345 ... 6
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Wackenov

09-16-2011

Hey, I just have a few questions about the frontend being developed with Adobe Air. I understand that I am no expert on the subject. I am a brand new programmer with nothing more than a basic fundamental understanding on the matter.

However, from what I can tell, Adobe Air is mainly justifiable for use due to its ability to be used cross-platform. It made sense a little until you dropped Mac support. Now that Mac OS has been scrapped, wouldn't it be beneficial to switch to something native? Something that can access Windows APIs and be optimized better and with more control?

I'm sure this has been posted before, so if somebody could point me to the explanation on this matter I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks for the work that you do, Riot. You have inspired me to become a software developer. In fact, my first application, MinionStats, is related to this game!

This post is not one of hate. I am simply curious as to why Riot continues to use a platform that(in my opinion) is holding you back. High switching costs is not a valid argument. Those costs will only increase as your framework expands.

Raskul

09-16-2011

I'm with this guy.

The whole front end is such a big resource hog. I don't feel it's optimized in any way and uses substantial computer resources while in game. There really needs to be a better way to make PVP.net "go away" while in-game.

HondaCivic

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

09-16-2011

I agree, this has been my biggest gripe with this game since i installed it.

Dmon3y26

09-16-2011

I agree with this.

AngryHumping

09-16-2011

How about why you need to have four processes running simultaneously for a 2 map lite game. There are many symptoms of the terrible backend decisions made. The whole operating is clunky as **** and it shows.

boourns

UI Designer