Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS


The launcher has experienced an error. Please restart this application

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

TheUndeadFish

Senior Member

08-10-2010

Quote:
SYNVISC:
which document in LOL.air


Pay attention to if it is LoL.air or LoL.Game when the patcher is updating my problem has allways been with the LoL.game file and I have been using this bandaid fix for 10 months now.


However this is kinda bull****. In that it is in no way a fault on my end, I have never had this problem on my laptop. My desktop that I installed LoL on would get this error 5 out of every 6 updates, I would assume that 1 out of the 6 didn't actually update this file and was just a hotfix.

I have reinstalled and everything like that multiple times to try and fix this to no avail, and to top it off my brand new desktop that has nothing installed on it but LoL and drivers has this same issue.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Count Tabris

Junior Member

08-10-2010

Sigh, how can I solve the problem and play?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

SYNVISC

Junior Member

08-10-2010

wow u gotta be kidding me...i reinstalled now im stuck at patch 28/49 with that same error message...


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

HorribleJames

Senior Member

08-10-2010

getting this as well.. 90% then the launcher has experienced an error please restart etc etc...

I have windows xp and sp3 and everything is completely up to date. never had issues playing LOL before today.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kaiixiin

Member

08-10-2010

why always when i get updates my game stops working today it stopped at 99% i installed it 3 times and still doesint work help me i made it work the other time by waiting 1 day but still its suppose to work when i reinstall it


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Controlled By Me

Senior Member

08-10-2010

I fixed this by renaming LOL.game.version to LOL2.game.version. The launcher automatically downloads this file again and updates like usual. Don't delete the file- you will need to rename it back to LOL.game.version if this fails for you, but for me it's working. When the game works you're most likely free to delete it.

Estimated patching time is an hour though... So I can't tell if this will allow you to launch the game again yet.

EDIT: It seems this method will start patching it as if it's the first version, or something. It's downloading much more than just the latest patch.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

asktiks

Senior Member

08-10-2010

Quote:
Controlled By Me:
I fixed this by renaming LOL.game.version to LOL2.game.version. The launcher automatically downloads this file again and updates like usual. Don't delete the file- you will need to rename it back to LOL.game.version if this fails for you, but for me it's working. When the game works you're most likely free to delete it.

Estimated patching time is an hour though... So I can't tell if this will allow you to launch the game again yet.

EDIT: It seems this method will start patching it as if it's the first version, or something. It's downloading much more than just the latest patch.



this worked for me too


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Controlled By Me

Senior Member

08-10-2010

Quote:
asktiks:
this worked for me too


I just finished patching and it gave me the same error. x_x You might as well turn it off again, since it doesn't work. Still looking for someone else to post a different fix.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Jiaan

Member

08-10-2010

where that file located?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

aggg

Senior Member

08-10-2010

Quote:
Controlled By Me:
I just finished patching and it gave me the same error. x_x You might as well turn it off again, since it doesn't work. Still looking for someone else to post a different fix.


Yep, same error, wasted an hour downloading 500 mb