League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Summoner's Rift (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   I'm a noob! (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=3151851)

TannerLiftGG 02-21-2013 10:31 AM

I'm a noob!

Hi Guys,
I am really new to LoL and MOBAs in general but wanted to learn how to play. I decided to choose Garen as my first Champion to learn. I chose him because I read that he was very easy to play, had a simple button combo that would get easy kills and was very difficult to kill. I figured this would be good for a player like me so that I wouldn't feed the other team and I would be able to stay alive for long enough stretches to actually learn the mechanics of the game. I have had a blast so far with Garen and I am having a lot of fun with the game. However, I am finding through more research that Garen isn't a very good champion. So, I am asking if someone could recommend a champion with similar characteristics to Garen that would be considered good, haha! Thanks in advance for the help and go easy on me in the comments :)

7StarMantis 02-21-2013 10:41 AM

Not sure why you say he isn't good, Garen can be pretty effective. What research is telling you he isn't?

The thing is, champions can be easier or harder, skill wise, but I hesitate to find many of them "good" or "bad". Sure there are a few which can be effective with less effort, but the others that require more skill can give significant rewards.

The key is still to learn the rest of the game (a phase I'm still in by quite a bit). You don't only need to know your champion, but others, since you need to know what to expect from your opponent -- that whole Sun Tzu "know your opponent and know yourself" thing. Also, a general idea of strategy, game mechanics, etc. will help out greatly.

TannerLiftGG 02-21-2013 10:51 AM