League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Guides & Strategy (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Avoiding ELO hell -- advice needed (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=2800496)

Samurai Dan 11-14-2012 08:39 PM

Avoiding ELO hell -- advice needed

I posted this in General, but the forums move too fast and most people just don't care.

So, I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice for staying out of ELO hell.
During the last season I kinda just jumped into ranked games and played whatever role was needed. I found myself losing more games than I felt like I should. Of course, I can't lay all the blame on my teams, but I would say a lot of the loses could have been prevented with a team that was simply competent.

I'm not going to say I am a great LOL player, but I'm certainly not terrible. I have been playing this game for 2 years now. I know all the champs, all the roles, all the items, etc.

In addition, I routinely play unranked draft pick with my friend who last season maintained an ELO around 1700. When playing these games I found competent teams and found that I was for the most part able to keep up with my team and provide positive results from whichever role I was filling.

I would say my best role is jungle, specifically jungle shaco. 2nd, adc. 3rd support. 4th top. And my least effective role is mid.

My friend's advice is always, "just carry yourself out with your jungle shaco." Well, the problem I have with that is come late game no matter how stacked my Shaco is he just loses effectiveness.

I currently own roughly 70 champions. And use on a regular basis probably 20 of them. Although, I am comfortable using any one of those 70 champs.