League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Hi there. I'm Kades. (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=2485067)

Kades 08-17-2012 12:01 AM

Hi there. I'm Kades.

Hi there,

I'm Kades.

I pronounce it with one syllable: "Kayds".

I thought I'd stop by the forums, introduce myself, and see if there was anything I might be able to help shed some light on. Which is both fun and a bit intimidating for me since it's easy to remember lurking these forums for years as a player- and now I'm in the (sorta surreal) position to be posting as a red.

A bit about me, I've been at Riot as a Gameplay Analyst for the past few months, but I've been an avid player since Beta.

I like hockey.

I love board games.

I'm an amateur magician with a strong emphasis on the 'amateur'.

I sometimes brew my own beer.

I'm pretty terrible at guitar, but I keep an acoustic hung up on my wall because it makes me feel cooler than I really am.

I get a little nervous when I work with Jesse Perring- even though in all my interactions, he's never been anything but relaxed, amiable, and very low-key.

I'm a terrible cook.

I have an irrational fear of elevators- but my rationale fear of climbing stairs helps me to keep that in check.

I met my wife because- on a whim- I took a Swing Dance class. Not because I had any illusions that I might be a good dancer (I'm not), but because as a weird quirk, I enjoy doing things I'm not very good at.

In that same vein, I'm not particularly good at League of Legends, but I enjoy that, too. Or maybe more accurately, it's easy for me to look around at my betters and think "wow, I'm terrible at this game". And then smile about it. There's always someone better.

I love reading fantasy.