League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Guides & Strategy (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Alistar the Tanky Tank, or How to Tank with Alistar, or the Newbs Guide to Alistar (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=131000)

SciencePrime 06-07-2010 09:00 PM

[GUIDE] Alistar the Tanky Tank or the Newbs Guide to Alistar

1 Attachment(s)
EDIT: Before you begin reading my guide, please keep in mind that epic Alistar changes are in the works. Please refer to Guinsoo's post: http://www.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=437005. I will update my guide once the changes go through and I have time to play test him for a week or so.

I started playing with Alistar once I realized how versatile of a character he is. I apologize for the length of this guide but I think Alistar deserves it and it’s necessary for me to communicate how I play this character. A lot of the Alistar guides I’ve read focus on building up his mana pool so he can spam his abilities, or how to make him an unconventional tank by buying un-tankish items. I think one guide recommends trinity force. These are definitely novel ideas and especially useful if you want to throw a little twist on the character, but as I was learning Alistar I found the existing guides next to useless. Why am I buying tears of goddess and archangel? The fundamentals of the character, or of a tank in general, just weren’t being targeted and I was having a tough time learning the character.