League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Guides & Strategy (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Any veteran junglers out there? (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=616284)

HighwayOne 03-29-2011 09:34 AM

Any veteran junglers out there?

Hey Guys.

I was playing a normal 5 the other day and got totally dominated by an Jungling Olaf. I've always liked Olaf in lane but have never really over taken the team like I've seen others do when they jungle. The only thing is, I'm not very good at jungling but I've always WANTED to get good. I guess my question is, how did YOU get extremely good at jungling? Of course, practice games only get you so far and LoL is a highly situational game, but when you first started out and needed to get good at jungling, did you just put your head down and head into a normal game and prepare to take the worst of "OMG NOOB OLAF. JUNGLING NOOB QQ. FAIL" or did you have a different way to prepare? Any tips would be appriciated. Thanks!

-HighwayOne

Avelice 03-29-2011 09:41 AM

Although I am not a master jungler, my quick suggestions are these:

1) Take a look at guides for the character you want to jungle with
2) In particular try to plan a route before you begin a game (You should practice in custom games by yourself a couple times first)
3) Be very careful at the start of the game: I've seen all too often where a team gets first blood by because they know where to go into the jungle and gank the jungler.
4) If the enemy team has a jungler, try and set up a ward at their blue buff. You can sometimes steal it/gank them when they go for it (By the same token, try to be aware of the enemy jungler going into your jungle with wards)
5) Always know what's going on in lanes. This will help know when might be good times to gank and/or cover a lane for a teammate who needs to return to base.